Showing Collections: 1 - 8 of 8
Booton-Modesitt Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.570
Scope and Contents
Papers of the Modesitt-Booton families of Luray, Virginia. The bulk of the collection consists of papers relating to Lucy Marye of Luray, Virginia who married James Modesitt in 1815. She was widowed in 1827 and remarried James Booton in 1830. Lucy was born to Peter and Eleanor Marye and was sister to William Staige Marye, who is considered one of the founders of Luray, Virginia Also included are letters by John Booton and others relating to slavery and politics, children's copy books,...
Dates:
circa 1809-1880; Majority of material found in 1820-1850
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Mary and Hannah Gibbons Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.51
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1793-1890, of sisters and Quaker educators, Mary and Hannah Gibbons. A small number of papers are directly related to their brother, Joseph Gibbons. Correspondence predominantly discusses relatives, friends, travels, and religious sentiments. The second series of items is family and personal papers, consisting of poems, copied scripture, drug prescriptions, and family records. The papers relating to the Infant School established by Mary and Hannah Gibbons make up the third series and...
Dates:
1743-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
McDowell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 M16
Scope and Contents
Chiefly invitations received by Sally McDowell. Includes printed invitations, 1839, to [George] Washington "Birthnight Ball" held by students at the College of William and Mary; invitation, 1839, to attend a party given at the Bell Tavern; silhouettes, n. d., of Sally McDowell and Dr. [?] McDowell; program, 1851, of entertainment given in London for [Abbott Lawrence]; and account, 1861-1865, of Lilly McDowell.
Dates:
1839-1865
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thelma Pedersen Collection
Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1990.42
Scope and Contents
Publications and newspaper clippings concerning the Williamsburg area, including College of William and Mary material. Programs, pamphlets, fans and newspapers.
Dates:
1899-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Shaw Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.460
Scope and Contents
Papers of the Shaw family of Skidmore, Missouri. Included are a scrapbook, 1941, of Edna Shaw (b. 1920) documenting her travels through some of the southern states where she directed the comedy "Bubbling Over," which was sponsored by the American Legion. It includes postcards and extensive handwritten descriptions by Edna Shaw, programs, and news clippings reviewing the play. Also included are a class photograph, 1900, presented to Edna's mother Hazel by her teacher, a 1904...
Dates:
circa 1900-1963
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Munford Tuck Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 68 T79
Scope and Contents
This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1918-1968, of William Munford Tuck, Democrat, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia State Senate, lieutenant-governor, governor, and congressman. Tuck's law practice files and his correspondence, 1950-1953, are arranged alphabetically. His congressional file is arranged alphabetically and the legislation files are arranged by session...
Dates:
1918-1968
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Tyler, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 T97
Scope and Contents
Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63: Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...
Dates:
1800-1928
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Williamsburg Arts Council Scrapbook
Collection — Box: 1, Bound Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.029
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook, 1967-1974 of the Williamsburg Arts Council, consisting of programs, news clippings, photographs, financial records, fliers and correspondence.
Dates:
1967-1974
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center